Partners……

Ok, another blog! But want some advice……

I wonder, does anyone else experience the fear of telling your partner problems that you have about them?
It’s something I do struggle with sometimes. I do love him, but there’s so much that annoys me and frustrates me about him. I’m we seem to argue a lot recently, but his mood swings are terrible. It’s what makes him lash out verbally and I’ve done nothing wrong to start this. Something so small and insignificant can sometimes set it off, I was on the verge on breaking up with him the other day. I kinda wonder if it’s because he’s depressed.

I feel like I do everything for him. He doesn’t work, he’s claiming ESA, but can sometimes be really careless with his money. I work a 32-45 hour week. I pay the rent, because he lives with me and has no extra cash to pay for anything. I generally get the food shopping and buy anything extra. He buys shopping, but doesn’t buy always the right things. He’ll buy crap that we don’t need. He sometimes, buys more of one thing and spends loads. I look at what he buys and it’s not essentials, I have a job and I only buy essentials.

He lives with me free of charge. I pay the rent, as I am only paying a small amount for my room. He travelled over 200 miles to be with me, so having a break, is out of the question, especially if he can’t travel home.

I guess I’m really confused as to what I want to do in life. I don’t ever want to lose him, he’s the only guy that’s ever loved me for who I am (and he’s not even my first boyfriend!) I feel such a strong connection to him, yet on the other hand, I can’t stand living with him. In the 2 years we’ve nearly been together, he’s never made me breakfast in bed 😦 I have always made him breakfast and other meals! otherwise he doesn’t eat. Yet another reason for my struggle. He doesn’t eat, unless I’m home to cook for him. He used to be great at the start of our relationship, but the past 5 months, it’s seems like I work, cook and buy most things, yet, he’s not respnsipble with his money.

I’m finding it really hard to figure out what I want from this. I’m constantly in 2 minds about him, literally sat on the fence, wondering what to do. He’s often shown signs of manipulation towards me, which I knew but reacted back appropriately.
So these are my thoughts typed out, something I’ve wanted to say top a friend but don’t have anyone close enough that I can personally share this. There are many more things that have happened but can’t think of them.
So I hope that I’m not the only person that this is happening to, ideas and advice are welcome. I guess it shows how strong love is after all.

Blogger Adam

One thought on “Partners……

  1. A relationship has to be about mutual trust and support. Both parties need to feel that they are giving to the relationship in order to maintain it. The imbalance comes when one feels the other is taking advantage of him/her. Anyone who has ever been in a relationship has gone through periods where there is a feeling that I am giving everytging, while the other is only taking. If your partner cannot work, for whatever reason, that person needs to make take on the responsibility of running the household within a given budget, and that becomes a job oike any other, which deserves respect and recognition. If you feel that things are out of balance, you *must* take time to talk it over rather than allowing resentment to grow into bitterness. I feel from your pist that you are going one day to reach the ooint wben you blow up over something completeky trivial and your partner will never understand what happened to him. Take time to talk to one another, and make sure that you take time to listen at the same time.
    Peter L

Leave a comment